2021 YWCA Women of Distinction Nominations

YWCA Darien/Norwalk is a non-profit organization located in Darien, Connecticut dedicated to eliminating racism, empowering women, and promoting peace, justice, freedom, and dignity for all. The national mission translates locally into a vision of creating opportunities for connection, growth, leadership, and empowerment for women and families at every age and stage of their lives. 

Each year we honor women in the Darien/Norwalk communities who epitomize our mission through their community leadership and contributions. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we were unable to hold our annual Women of Distinction Award Ceremony in 2020 to formally honor the six phenomenal women selected. During our 2021 event, we will honor those six women, in addition to at least one additional woman and one young woman of distinction.

The criteria for the new honorees will be: women whose community leadership and contribution have focused on issues related to racial equity, social justice, and/or strengthening our community during the pandemic. We will celebrate our honorees in early June during a small in-person event including a live stream option.

 Submissions for 2021 are no longer being accepted.  Please contact Aidan Welsh at @This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with questions or more information about the Women of Disctinction awards. 

Past Honorees

2020 Honorees

Kim Dickinson

Susie Flaherty

Shieva Ghofrany

Susan Marks

Shelly Skoglund

Young Woman of Distinction - Lily Genovese

2019 Honorees

Tracy Fox

Debra Hertz

Heather Raker

Shiva Sarram

Katherine Price Snedaker

Young Women of Distinction - Morgan Riley

2018 Honorees

Carrie Bernier

Tina Duryea

Scarlett Lewis

Allison Molkenthin

Wendy Ward

Young Woman of Distinction - Emma Dahlquist

2017 Honorees

Kara Nelson Baekey

Mindy Garcia

Catalina Horak

Lisa Koorbusch

Leslie Pennington

Young Women of Distinction - Katie Schorr

2016 Honorees

Whitney Ball

Leelee Klein

Ceci Maher

Callie Sullivan

Young Woman of Distinction - Ellie Cush

2015 Honorees

Sandy Nielsen Baumann

Alicia Sillars

Dr. Josephine Velazquez Rucquoi

Jane Yezzi

Susan Delaney

Young Woman of Distinction - Merlyn Tejada

2014 Honorees

Jenny Schwartz

Mary Genco

Rhonda Kiest

Patricia Phillips

Maryann Lehmann, MD. 

Young Women of Distinction - Sloane Bessey

2013 Honorees

Louise Parker Berry

Rita Ferri

Novelette Peterkin

Sueann Schorr

Ciara Thurlow

Distinguished Service Award - Babs White 

Young Women of Distinction - Katie Farren

2012 Honorees

Debi Boccanfuso

Betty Jewett

Kate Larson

Susan Warren

Gina Zangrillo

Young Women of Distinction - Niya Wright

2011 Honorees

Susan Daly

Lisa Joyce

Kiki Karpen

Grace Lichtenstein

Jeanne Marconi, MD.

Young Woman of Distinction - Katie Grozier 

Distinguished Service Award - Anne Flanagan

2010 Honorees

Marcia Meinerth

Charlotte Suhler

Maureen Bloom

Penny Glassmeyer

Meghan Moore

Young Women of Distinction - Rachel Hathaway 

Contact Us

Our Hours

  • Monday - Friday: 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
YWCA Darien Norwalk

The YWCA Darien/Norwalk is a 501(c)(3) organization and your membership is tax deductible to the extent allowable by law.  All Rights Reserved. © 2020 YWCA Darien/Norwalk.